Business License Information
Please be advised that in order to renew a business license, each file needs to be updated. If you are no longer in business or your business will not be operating for any part of 2020; you must send a notarized letter stating the status of your company. Once the letter has been received, an investigator will be assigned to verify your claim.
All Businesses will need to complete a Business License Application form. Please download application below. If the form is not completed, it may cause a delay in processing renewals. Each business must either provide a Tax Identification Number or the owner’s Social Security Number.
Businesses that are subjected to payment of gross receipts of sales must complete a Statement of Gross Receipts Form. We accept money orders, checks, and Visa and Master Card credit cards. (Note: a 3% service charge is added to all credit card transactions.)
Monthly sales taxes should be remitted to the Alabama Department of Revenue – One Spot. The contact information for One Spot is listed below. A valid picture id must be provided for each business.
Construction Businesses must provide proof of a current $10, 000 surety bond payable to “The City of Prichard”. A State of Alabama General Contractors License or Mobile County License is also required.
Restaurants, Cafes, Food Establishment, and Peddlers who handle food must provide a copy of a current Mobile County Health Department Permit.
Day Care Centers (both adult and child) and Lodging Houses must provide a copy of a current State of Alabama License.
House Movers/Wreckers, Landscapers/Gardeners, Painters, and Plumbers must provide proof of a current $10,000 surety bond payable to “The City of Prichard”.
All Business Licenses expire on the last day of each calendar year. Business Licenses renewed after January 31st will be subjected to a 25% penalty and a 50% penalty after July 1st.
These forms are available for download by clicking on the appropriate item.