NEWS:

Animal Resource Center

Mailing Address:

2402 Rebel Road
Prichard, Alabama

Office: 251-456-5399
animalshelter@
thecityofprichard.org

Our Facebook Page

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday
7 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Kennel Hours:
Monday - Friday
10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Weekend Adoption Hours:
1st Saturday of Month
9 a.m. to noon
At the Shelter

3rd Saturday of Month
9 a.m. to noon
Tractor Supply, Theodore

CLOSED ON WEEKENDS

For after-hours emergencies, contact the Prichard Police Department at 251-452-2211

Important Phone Numbers:

City of Mobile Animal Shelter
251-208-2800

Chickasaw Animal Shelter
251-452-5474

Mobile County Animal Shelter
251-547-3647

Saraland Animal Shelter
251-679-5570

Mobile SPCA
251-633-3531

shelteroutside

Mission:

The Prichard Animal Resource Center provides many services which include the enforcement of the Alabama State Code, along with Prichard Municipal Ordinance #1640, investigating cruelty to animals, quarantine to biting animals, and housing of strays and unwanted animals.

How You Can Help:

Adoption Application
Volunteer Application
Volunteer Opportunities

License Requirements:
All cats and dogs three months of age or older are required to be licensed.

Owners are required to register such pet(s) with the City Clerk's Office located at 216 East Prichard Avenue between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Owners must present a current certificate of rabies vaccination before such license can be issued.

License Fees:
$6.00 for non-spayed or neutered cats or dogs.
$3.00 for non-spayed or neutered cats or dogs if owned by a person 65 years of age or older with proper identification

$3.00 for spayed or neutered cats or dogs.
$1.50 for spayed or neutered cats or dogs owned by a person 65 years of age or older with proper identification.

There is a $10.00 late fee applied to each license purchased after January 31.

Adoption Fees:
*Adoption fee covers 7-1 vaccination, deworming, spay/neuter*
$80 for a male dog/cat
$90 for a female dog/cat

Livestock:
The owner or person in charge of every horse more than three (3) months of age shall register the same as to name, sex, breed, description, owner's name, phone number, and address. Registration shall be done within thirty (30) days of the purchase of the horse by the owner or person in charge. Failure to timely register the horse shall subject the owner or person in charge to a $50.00 penalty.

Payment of the applicable fees:
Application Fee - $150.00
Renewal Permit - $75.00
Failure to Show Vaccinations Certification - $50.00
Permit Replacement Fee - $10.00

Owners are required to register such pet(s) with the Animal Shelter, located at 216 East Prichard Avenue between the hours of 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Owners must present a current vaccination certificate before such license can be issued.

Requirements as to construction of lawful fences - Fences of seven or more wires for livestock generally.
A fence made of seven or more wires securely fastened to trees or posts not more than eight feet apart. The first four wires being of four-inch barb and not over four inches apart, commencing with the first wire four inches from the ground, the fifth wire not over six inches from the fourth, the sixth wire not over eight inches from the fifth, and seventh wire 15 inches from the sixth.

corridor